wickedkrot.blogg.se

Npr best reads 2017 ann patchett interview
Npr best reads 2017 ann patchett interview










npr best reads 2017 ann patchett interview

On taking care of her grandmother in her final years The day that we got married, all of that noise just went away and it was like 80 percent of our conversational life opened up to other topics. Everyone had an opinion about our relationship. The other thing that was fantastic about being married is that we didn't have to talk about it anymore, and we had been talking about it for 11 years - not just with one another but with everyone. He was just relaxed because he always really wanted to get married. There's like a secret storeroom of extra love, but because we weren't married I was always afraid that you were going to leave." And so that was a wonderful bonus. There was something about getting married that allowed Karl to say, "OK. One was that after we got married, Karl loved me more and that was amazing. On how things changed when, after 11 years, they finally got married and moved in together

npr best reads 2017 ann patchett interview

Karl needed time to get over being divorced and I needed time because I had psychological problems and didn't want to live with anybody ever again, and it really gave us a very healthy, solid foundation for what is now our marriage. And there were times where Karl and I, in that 11 years, would have problems and I would think, "It's so much better to have a fight and say, 'I want to go home,' instead of have a fight and say, 'I don't want to live with you anymore.' " I mean it really gave us both a tremendous amount of space.












Npr best reads 2017 ann patchett interview